Bummer Dude.

the husband and i at burning man

The Husband and I at Burning Man Rites of Passage 2011.

One of the big bummers about my near death blogging hiatus is that not all of 2011 completely sucked and now I don’t have any record of the cool stuff either.

We did 2 cabin trips with all our friends. We had 4 rounds of house guests of friends and family from the Bay Area. 2 friends had babies. I threw a baby shower. We went to Burning Man. We had a few camping trips. I drug The Husband to Sea World and Disneyland. And of course there was Thanksgiving, my birthday, Christmas and New Years Eve. And I’m sure there’s much more that I am forgetting.

I’m very grateful for Instagram and Tumblr because at least I have snippets of all these things.

Looking forward I’m very excited about the big changes that this new year is already bringing. The first of which is that our roommate that I have lived with for 7 years is moving out. It’s the end of an era and I really love him but it’s time for me to finally live alone with my husband. I cannot wait to start redoing our house and start building a home for The Husband and I. Eventhough we have been married a year and half already, I feel like this is a real beginning for us. And it feels really good!

Another big change is The Husband and I are really focusing on our health. We both really enjoyed our first year and half of marriage overindulging in food and booze but the fat panda has sung. It was great fun to spend evenings at home cooking and spending time together but it is time for a change. We both have gained a ton of weight and my liver is suffering. I am dying to have a baby and I need to be in much better shape before getting pregnant. And I don’t want The Husband to have a freakin’ heart attack trying to keep up with a munchkin. I started a blog for Project Panda to track our progress and keep us honest.

I really think 2012 is going to be an especially great year for The Husband and I and I’m really looking forward to it!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bummer Dude.

  1. Mark says:

    I just read both of your posts and can hardly believe my eyes. Or would it be ears? Perhaps it’s “brain”. I don’t know. Anyway, I remember how much you were looking forward to that trip and I’m sorry that you went through all that. And on top of it all, to meet his Family in that condition. My heart goes out to you.
    I am glad you’re back and safe though. And yes, I hope that 2012 is the best year ever for you.
    mark

    • Heather says:

      Awww, thanks Mark! What really matters is that I am safe and healthy. But I’m not going to lie, meeting his family and wanting to be at my best and being rendered helpless unable to shower, brush my hair or put on makeup? My worst nightmare! But they were all so damn nice and really took great care of me. Regardless of having such a crap first experience I still want to go back as soon as we can. Hi family is absolutely amazing and so loving, I really want to get to know them.

  2. Pingback: Burning Man Rites of Passage 2011. « Burning Panda

Leave a Reply

